Malaysia flag

Malaysia is a Southeast Asian country separated by the South China Sea into two regions. Malaya, also known as West Malaysia or Peninsular Malaysia, occupies the southern half of the Malay Peninsula and the surrounding islands. It shares a land and maritime border with Thailand and maritime borders with Singapore, Vietnam, and Indonesia. Borneo's East Malaysia, also known as Malaysian Borneo and comprising the states of Sabah and Sarawak, shares land and maritime borders with Brunei and Indonesia and a maritime border with the Philippines and Vietnam.